The Village of Tejeda is located close to the centre of the Island at an altitude of just over 1000 meters. The main activity here and in the surrounding countryside is the cultivation of Almonds and Fruit.
In the centre of the Village is Church of Nuestra Señora del Socorro (Our Lady of Help), which was constructed in 1921, after the original church was destroyed by fire. The Museo de Tradiciones de Tejeda (Tejeda Tradicions Museum) and the Museo de Tres Cruces, exhibit the tradicional agricultural way of life in this area.
Cruz de Tejeda is located 8km north of Tejeda itself on a Mountain Pass and is named after it’s Stone Cross. Besides the stunning views, visitors can also buy some of the local produce (such as Marzipan) from the small market or have something to eat in the Restaurant. A Parador (State-run Hotel) is also located here, with it’s entrance beside the famous Cross.
The Municipality of the same name covers some 104km² of the Island’s most beautiful countryside, which Spanish Writer, Unamuno, described as a “Petrified Storm”.